Peggy's Cove, a small picturesque fishing village, (population 60) surrounds a narrow
ocean inlet which provides a safe haven for boats during the Atlantic's rough weather.
August 1914, the present lighthouse was built to replace the old wooden structure
that had previously served both as a dwelling-house for the lighthouse keeper,
and as a lighthouse, with a lantern on top of its roof. During World War
II, it was used as a Radio Station for the Royal Canadian Navy. This old
house, many can still remember, had withstood many a storm, and hurricanes,
but finally was so badly damaged by "Hurricane Edna" in 1954, that it was
decided shortly afterwards to demolish it.
A lighthouse built on the large smooth wave washed granite rocks is the crowning feature of this beautiful Atlantic cove. A large parking area has been blended in near the lighthouse for visitor access and during mild weather, you can walk over the huge boulders to enjoy the splendid view in all directions.
Cove Lighthouse stands on a smooth rock-ledge dipping into the Atlantic
This 100 ft. long granite
outcropping has carvings of 32 fishermen, their wives and children. It took
deGarthe ten years to complete his mural. William deGarthe's incredible tribute to Canadian fishermen.
William deGarthe's incredible tribute to Canadian Fisherman.